Previously called Telok Ayer Market, the Lau Pa Sat Festival Market is a spread of food stalls touting famous local delicacies such as satay and barbecued seafood. First opened in 1825, it used to extend over the sea so merchants could load and unload produce directly onto the boats. As its simple timber and atap (wooden) structure that rested on timber piles was not sturdy enough to face the elements, the market was reconstructed in 1836.
This new market was also demolished to allow for land reclamation, but was revived again in 1894, with a design by municipal engineer James MacRitchie. Lau Pa Sat was subsequently converted into a famous gourmet paradise that has been gazetted as a national monument since 1973, and is famed for its octagonal building structure.
But what Lau Pa Sat is most famous for is its wide selection of local food and delicacies, where visitors can find almost everything and anything under one roof. The fact that it is open 24 hours daily makes it even more of a draw.