不要将它与胡萝卜蛋糕甜点相混淆,后者是一款用胡萝卜和香料制成的松软蛋糕,表面富有奶油乳酪糖霜。

这道可口的炒萝卜糕并没有胡萝卜,至少没有橙色胡萝卜。新加坡炒萝卜糕的主要食材为米粉和白萝卜。将米粉和白萝卜丝混合再蒸熟,然后切成小块,和蒜、鸡蛋和菜脯 (腌制萝卜干) 一起烹炒。

这些细腻滑嫩的炒年糕就是潮州方言中的“菜头粿”,几乎可以在每个小贩中心找到。食用时或为黑色(加甜味黑酱油炒制)或为白色(原汁原味)。

中式年糕

这道简单的小吃起源于中国南部的潮汕。在那里,它是众所周知的“炒糕粿”(油炸淀粉类糕点),主要由米粉制成。鱼酱和甜味黑豉油用来腌制年糕,然后切丁,和炒鸡蛋、牡蛎、虾一起炒制。

它由潮州移民带来新加坡,曾被成为“菜粿” (炒年糕),其实就是简单的黑酱油炒年糕。

潮州小贩 Ng Soik Theng 因为当时将白萝卜加入了米糕,所以自称是在 20 世纪 60 年代第一个称其为“菜头粿”的人。据说,让白萝卜版本风行开来的是另一个叫做 Lau Goh 的小贩。

Do not confuse this with the dessert carrot cake, a moist cake made with carrot and spices; covered with cream cheese frosting.

This savoury carrot cake has no carrot, at least not of the orange variety. Instead, the core ingredients of the cake are rice flour and white radish which some call white carrot. The mixture is steamed, then cut into cubes and fried with garlic, eggs and preserved radish called 'chai poh'.

Commonly referred to as 'chai tow kway' in the Teochew dialect, these smooth and soft fried rice cakes can be found in almost every hawker centre. It is served black (fried with sweet dark soya sauce) or white (original).

Chinese rice cake

The simple dish has its origins in Southern China’s Chaoshan province. There, it is known as 'chao gao guo' (fried starch cake) which is made mainly with rice flour. Fish sauce and black sweetened soya sauce are used to marinate the rice cake before it is cut and fried with eggs, oysters and prawns.

Brought over to Singapore by Teochew immigrants, it was known as 'char kway' (fried rice cake), which was simply cubes of rice cakes fried with dark soya sauce.

Teochew hawker Ng Soik Theng claims to be the first to have called this dish 'chai tow kway' in the 1960s when she added white radish to it. Another hawker, Lau Goh, is said to have popularised the white version.