螃蟹自是上等佳品,但说到底,酱汁风头才最劲!甜咸滋味交融,略带香辣,美味之极让人欲罢不能。剥开蟹壳,酱汁涌出,沾满十指,此时此刻已顾不得失态,先吮指赏味再说!

这色香味俱全的浓稠酱汁以辣椒和番茄酱调制而成,先以蒜蓉和米醋将酱汁爆香,加入勾芡,再徐徐倒入打散的蛋液形成蛋花,使酱汁浓稠中带着松软口感。再点些煎或蒸的馒头蘸着吃,饱含酱汁的馒头,口感滋味妙不可言。

辣椒螃蟹是新加坡最伟大的烹饪发明,在所有蟹类料理中独占鳌头。绝大多数海鲜餐馆皆可轻松尝到这道佳肴,典型的烹饪法是以味美甜香多汁的泥地螃蟹为主食材。

原始的创意

这道闻名于世的佳肴源起于 1956 年的一辆手推车。经营者是一对夫妇,丈夫要妻子尝试用清蒸以外的其他方式烹煮螃蟹。

为妻的徐炎珍女士先是试着以番茄酱炒螃蟹,后来决定再加点辣椒酱提味。夫妇俩此后就在加冷河畔沿街售卖辣椒螃蟹,不料生意大好,最后还开了“棕榈滩海鲜”餐馆 (Palm Beach Seafood)。

而后,名厨许国辉师傅开了另一家餐馆“龙凤大饭店”,对辣椒螃蟹的烹调法稍作改良,用参巴酱、番茄酱和鸡蛋取代了瓶装辣椒酱和番茄酱制作酱汁。自此以后,他的配方成为新加坡辣椒螃蟹最常见的版本。

The crab is divine but the sauce is the star – sweet yet savoury, slightly spicy and supremely satisfying. You will get it all over your fingers as you crack open the crab shells, and it is simply impossible not to lick it all up.

And you will go back for more, dipping fried or steamed buns, called mantou, to soak up the sauce – a delightful blend of tomatoes and chilli paste, thickened with ribbons of beaten eggs.

Chilli crab is among Singapore’s greatest culinary inventions, the king of all crab dishes. It is easily available in most seafood restaurants, which typically serve it with mud crabs that have deliciously sweet and juicy flesh.

Crab creation

The world famous dish started from a pushcart in 1956. Run by a couple, the husband asked his wife to experiment with other methods of cooking crabs other than just steaming the seafood.

Madam Cher Yam Tian’s first attempt was stir-fried crabs with tomato sauce, but decided the dish will have more kick by adding chilli sauce. They sold their chilli crabs along Kallang River and it became so popular that they opened a restaurant, called Palm Beach.

A famous chef, who opened Dragon Phoenix restaurant later, added a slight twist to the dish – using sambal, tomato paste and eggs to cook the gravy instead of bottled chilli and tomato sauces. This has since become the version most commonly served in Singapore.