神经脆弱的人看到鼓起的鱼鳃和红色肉汁包围下凸起的鱼眼时会感到不适。但是,对于很多人而言,它却是秀色可餐的盛宴——常常佐以米饭,浸入喷香的咖喱一起享用。

咖喱鱼头是新加坡独有的菜式,是文化大熔炉的缩影。它融合了南印度典型的咖喱香料,是华族的一道美食。

每个种族都有自己版本的咖喱鱼头,咖喱的用量略有不同。有些人会加入罗望子汁来增加酸味,有些人则会加入椰奶获得更绵密的口感。

唯一的相似之处便是,辣肉汁中摇曳的肥美的红鲷鱼,以及秋葵和茄子等蔬菜的混合。

从“头”开始

咖喱鱼头诞生于 20 世纪 60 年代的一个小印度餐馆。鱼头并不在印度食材考虑之列,但却为了喜好鱼头的华族顾客而加入的。一位来自印度南部喀拉拉邦的餐馆老板将印度咖喱和中国人最爱的鱼头混合在一起。

结果大卖。今天,印度菜、中式菜、马来菜和娘惹菜餐馆的菜单上都有它的身影,常常盛装在仍在沸煮的砂煲上桌。好鱼的食客会说,鱼鳃是鱼最好的部位,而鱼眼则是一大享受。

The squeamish will squirm at the sight of puffy cheeks and bulging fish eyes surrounded in a sea of red gravy. Yet, for many, it is a visually appetising feast - usually eaten with rice to soak up the fragrant curry.

Fish head curry is unique to Singapore, the epitome of a cultural melting pot. It mixes the spices of a typical South Indian curry with the fish head, a delicacy among the Chinese.

Every ethnic group here has its own version of the dish, with slight variations to the curry. Some mix in tamarind paste for a tinge of sourness, others add coconut milk for a creamier texture.

The only similarity is the head of a fleshy Red Snapper swimming in a pool of spicy gravy, along with a mix of vegetables such as okra (lady fingers) and egg plant.

A head start

Fish head curry was created in the kitchen of a small Indian restaurant in the 1960s. Fish head is not considered an Indian ingredient, but to please Chinese customers who love it. A restaurant owner from the Southern Indian state of Kerala blended Indian curry with the Chinese favourite fish head.

The result was a hit. Today, it is on the menu in Indian, Chinese, Malay and Peranakan restaurants, often served still bubbling away in a large clay pot. Fish aficionados will proclaim that the cheeks have the best flesh, and the eyes are a treat.