当您看到一个小吃摊上整齐排挂了一只只熟鸡时,就应该知道那便是新加坡的国菜之一——海南鸡饭。

它在新加坡全国小贩中心随处可见,也是很多大餐馆乃至酒店咖啡厅的菜品。同菜不同价:一口大小的鸡块——或是团队用餐时的整鸡——与喷香的米饭、呛口辣椒、鲜香姜酱搭配食用。

这道菜的食谱改编自早期中国移民,他们来自远离中国南部海岸的海南岛。海南当地人称这道菜为"文昌鸡"。他们使用特别品种的鸡,骨瘦皮纤,佐以鸡油饭享用。深绿色的绿辣椒蘸酱为这道菜锦上添花。

新加坡式鸡饭

其烹调方法可以追溯至海南。鸡肉用沸水煮或热烫至全熟,然后浸入冰水保持肉质滑嫩。根据本地一种复杂的做法,鸡肉还可抹上酱油烤制或焗制,带来别样的口感。

在新加坡,这道菜深受粤菜的影响,使用辛辣的红辣椒蘸酱和肉质滑嫩的仔鸡。

不过,这道菜的成败在于米饭和辣椒。米饭,以鸡高汤、姜和香兰叶烹煮,且需油量适中。而辣椒则必须将辣味和酸味融合的恰到好处。

When you see succulent cooked chicken hanging neatly in a row at a food stall, you are looking at one of Singapore’s national dishes - Hainanese Chicken Rice.

A ubiquitous sight in hawker centres across the country, it is also on the menu in many major restaurants and even hotel cafes. All offer the same dish at varying prices: bite-sized chicken pieces – or a whole chicken if you’re eating as a big group - served with fragrant rice and a spicy chilli and ginger paste.

The recipe for the dish is adapted from early Chinese immigrants from Hainan Island, off the southern coast of China. Back in Hainan, locals call the dish "Wenchang chicken". They use a particular fowl that is bony and fibrous, and serve the chicken with oily rice. A ground green chilli dip rounds off the dish.

Singapore-style chicken rice

The cooking method hails back to its Hainanese roots. The chicken is steeped in boiling water or blanched till it is fully cooked, before soaking it in cold water to ensure the meat remains tender. In a local twist, the chicken can also be roasted or braised in soya sauce for a different taste.

In Singapore, the dish is infused with local Cantonese influences which inspired the tangy red chilli sauce dip and the use of tender and young chicken.

It is, however, the rice and chilli sauce that can make or break the dish. The rice, cooked in chicken stock with ginger and pandan leaves, with just the right amount of oiliness. And the chilli must have the right blend of spiciness and sourness.