炒福建虾面也简称为“福建面”,是以猪骨和虾头熬制的浓香高汤浸面翻炒成的一道著名小吃。

这道令人垂涎的面条料理由黄色面条和“粗米粉” 组成,加以新鲜多汁的大虾、墨鱼、五花肉丝、鸡蛋和脆炸猪油渣(可选),混合翻炒成一道格外美味的小吃。享用时,佐以参巴辣椒酱和一点酸柑汁,
清新提味。

顾名思义,炒福建虾面,是福建人创制的一道小吃。但其真正起源无法确定。

追溯其福建渊源

有人说它最初叫做“梧槽炒面”,因最早是于梧槽路 (Rochor Road) 售卖。战后在制面厂工作的福建帮海员夜里会会在梧槽路一带聚集,将工厂剩余的面条在木炭炉上热炒。也有人称梧槽路附近七层楼酒店旁的一个小食摊首创了这道小吃。

但有人指出,梧槽炒面其实是娘惹 (海峡华人) 版炒福建虾面,肉汁更多并佐以参巴辣椒酱享用,这是近来更常见的版本。据说,最初的炒福建面会炒至干爽收汁并佐以切成小块的红辣椒享用。

不过,各家之言孰真孰假,无关紧要,只要知道熟食中心常见的这道炒面极为可口美味就是了。

Also known as Hokkien mee (noodles), this stir-fried noodle dish is steeped in aromatic stock made of pork bones and prawn heads.

This lip-smacking noodle dish – comprising yellow noodles and thick 'bee hoon' (vermicelli) – has juicy prawns, squid, pork belly strips, egg and crunchy fried pork lard (optional) that makes everything taste extra good. It is served with sambal chilli and a squeeze of lime juice for that added zing.

As its name suggests, Hokkien Prawn Mee is a dish created by Hokkiens. But its origins are a little uncertain.

Tracing its Hokkien history

Some say it was originally known as Rochor mee because it was first sold at Rochor Road. Hokkien sailors who had worked at noodle factories in post-war Singapore would gather at Rochor Road in the evenings to fry the excess noodles from the factories over charcoal stoves. Others suggest that a stall beside the 7th Storey Hotel near Rochor Road first created this dish.

Yet some point out that Rochor Mee was the Peranakan interpretation of the dish, which is cooked with more gravy and accompanied by sambal – a more common version these days. The original Hokkien mee is supposedly fried till dry and eaten with sliced red chilli.

But it does not matter which account is true, just know that the noodles, typically found in hawker centres, are delightfully delicious.