这道小点搭配一杯本地的“kopi”(咖啡)或“teh”(茶),堪称完美;炭烤或香焗面包片包裹着冷黄油碎和一大抹椰果和鸡蛋制成的咖椰酱。

有些人将这道烤三明治作为早餐,有些人则选择为茶点享用。它更多地则是配上两颗半生熟蛋、略加少许黑酱油和白胡椒。

美味的鸡蛋与诱人的香酥甜咖椰吐司相得益彰,一层是入口即化的橄榄绿咖椰酱,一层是厚厚的黄油。

细致入微

这道小吃要归功于 Ya Kun 咖椰烤土司和 Kheng Hoe Heng 咖啡店的创始人——这两家店是 Killiney Kopitiam 的前身。

Ya Kun 是一家源于 1944 年的咖啡摊,因其极薄的棕色面包片和风味咖椰而闻名。Kheng Hoe Heng 成立于 1919 年,是新加坡最古老的海南咖啡店,以白面包咖椰吐司闻名。1993 年时被一位常客买下改名为 Killiney Kopitiam。

直到 2000 年之后,由于 Ya Kun 和 Killiney 开始在购物中心新设店铺,咖椰吐司才开始在新加坡风生水起。自那时起,大批新咖啡加盟店开始售卖咖椰吐司。

It is the perfect snack that goes very well with a cup of local 'kopi' (coffee) or 'teh' (tea); charcoal-grilled or toasted slices of bread enveloping slivers of cold butter and a generous spread of kaya, a traditional jam made from coconut and eggs.

Some eat this toasted sandwich for breakfast, others prefer it for tea. More often than not, it is accompanied by two soft-boiled eggs with runny yolks and translucent whites that are heavenly with a dash of dark soya and white pepper.

The savoury eggs are a good complement to the sweet kaya toast which has an appetising crispy crunch, a melt-in-your mouth layer of olive-green kaya and a generous dollop of butter.

Toast trivia

This snack is credited to the Hainanese, such as the founders of Ya Kun Kaya Toast and Kheng Hoe Heng Coffeeshop – the predecessor to Killiney Kopitiam.

Ya Kun, a coffee stall since 1944, is known for its wafer thin brown bread slices and flavourful kaya. Kheng Hoe Heng, set up in 1919, is the oldest Hainanese coffeeshop in Singapore, famous for its white bread kaya toast. It was bought over by a regular customer in 1993 who renamed it Killiney Kopitiam.

But it was only after 2000 that the kaya toast scene took off in Singapore, when Ya Kun and Killiney started expanding with new outlets in shopping malls. Since then, there has been a slew of new coffee joints selling kaya toast.