如果打算逛逛较少有人去的地方,新加坡也有许多很少有人注意的地方。看看这四个邻里区,体验其奥妙之处、享受迷人的景色、声音和美食! 


荷兰村

荷兰村,即 Holland V,以受人尊敬的建筑师、该区早期居民之一 Hugh Holland 命名。

同在这个区的还有 Jalan Merah Saga 路集美花园 (Chip Bee Gardens),Jalan Merah Saga 路上的半独立式排屋鳞次栉比,在新加坡处于殖民统治时期 20 世纪五十年代,英国军队曾经住过这里。

现今,荷兰村 (Holland V) 和附近的集美花园 (Chip Bee Gardens) 以其餐饮店著称,包括拉面专店 Sanpoutei、地中海素菜馆 Original Sin 和甜品店 2am:dessertbar 等。充满活力的酒吧也是本地人喜欢去的地方;有澳大利亚风格酒吧 Barossa、德国风格酒吧 Baden 和现场音乐表演酒吧 Wala Wala 等。 


女皇镇

女皇镇 (Queenstown) 是新加坡最古老的住宅区之一,以前是一个农业园区,以英国伊丽莎白女王的名字命名。这位王室人物是新加坡国家元首,直到新加坡成为独立国家。

女皇镇现在发展为一个本地组屋区,有许多不容错过的特色地方,包括女皇镇图书馆(具有历史性,是新加坡首个公共图书馆)和皇后大道购物中心等。在皇后大道购物中心有过季优惠运动用品、耐克和阿迪达斯等许多运动品牌的系列产品等。

附近的 Wessex Estate 居民区也有许多值得一去的地方。参观美术馆,如陶瓷雕塑和装置艺术美术馆 Joy Clay Studio & Gallery,再到迷人的 Colbar 体验新加坡古风,享受各种西式和亚洲风味美食。


大巴窑

大巴窑 (Toa Payoh) 表面上一眼看起来和一个普通组屋区没什么两样,但进一步了解后就会发现这个居住区其实蕴含着深厚的历史文化底蕴。大巴窑在闽南语的意思是 "大沼泽",大巴窑组屋区是仅次于女皇镇的第二最古老卫星城,冠以许多 “首个” 之称 – 最先采用邻里警岗制度、建地铁站、利用回教堂建造基金建回教堂的首个城镇。

到了大巴窑,一定要去几个主要地方:前面提到过的穆哈芝林回教堂 (Masjid Muhajirin)、大巴窑新镇公园 (Toa Payoh Town Park) 绿化地,到具有标志性的龙头游乐场 (Dragon Playground) 观看新加坡深受喜爱的地标之一。

如果逛到饿了,就去华夫冰淇淋店 Creamier,去著名海鲜餐饮店龙海鲜螃蟹王 (Mellben) 品尝经典的本地美食辣椒螃蟹。

想进一步了解大巴窑?保存这套文化遗址观光路线指南、轻松玩转大巴窑新镇。 


惹兰勿刹

这个区多姿多彩,街道上的店屋鳞次栉比,原初只是一个槟榔水果园里的一条简简单单的小路,果园是 Norris Brothers 在 19 世纪三十年代创建的。多年后,市政府决定扩建这条路,以马来语命名为 Jalan Besar,意即 "大马路"。

如今,惹兰勿刹是个保护区,汇聚许多不拘一格的餐馆、咖啡馆、娱乐场所和宗教场所,还有许多青年旅社,不断有大批背包客涌入。

这里是 “串咖啡馆” 的最佳去处之一,看看 Butter Studio 等视频群聊上如何讨论这里妙不可言的烘焙食品,到 Chye Seng Huat Hardware 咖啡馆品尝浓味咖啡。Tyrwhitt General Company 艺术品店等其它亮点也不容错过,可以到店里买些手工艺术品当作旅游纪念品。

如果还在附近排队等着吃晚饭,不妨先去 The Refinery 吃日式烤鸡串、喝新款的定制鸡尾酒等,如果想吃些本地小吃,就直奔惹兰白锡熟食中心(Jalan Berseh Food Centre)吃蚝煎或大胆尝试山瑞汤。

现在对新加坡了解得差不多之后就可以准备探索新加坡的神秘之处了!查看这些指南了解更多旅游线路和可游玩的邻里区。

If you’re hoping to go off the beaten track, you’ll be glad to know that there are plenty of places in Singapore that are considered under-the-radar to many. Check out these four neighbourhoods and visit their hidden gems for amazing sights, sounds, and of course, food! 


Holland Village

The district of Holland Village, aka Holland V, is named after Hugh Holland, who was one of the area's early residents and a well-respected architect.

Also part of this precinct is Chip Bee Gardens on Jalan Merah Saga, which is lined with semi-detached and terrace houses that were once homes to members of the British army in the 1950s, when the country was under colonial rule.

Today, Holland V and the neighbouring Chip Bee Gardens is mainly known for its F&B outlets, including ramen specialists Sanpoutei, Mediterranean-vegetarian restaurant Original Sin, and late-night sweet spot 2am:dessertbar. The vibrant watering holes are a hit with locals as well; there’s the Australian-inspired bar Barossa, Germanic pub Baden, and live music venue Wala Wala, so take your pick.  


Queenstown

One of the oldest housing estates in Singapore, Queenstown – which was once an agricultural zone – is actually named after Queen Elizabeth of Great Britain. The royal figure was Singapore's head of state until the nation gained its independence.

Now a heartland area, Queenstown boasts several not-to-be-missed features, including Queenstown Public Library (a slice of history for you as this is Singapore’s first public library) and Queensway Shopping Centre, where affordable sporting goods from past seasons and collections of brands like Nike and Adidas abound.

Over in the nearby Wessex Estate, there are noteworthy sites as well. Check out art galleries like Joy Clay Studio & Gallery ceramic sculptures and installation art before dropping by the charming Colbar for a feel of old Singapore and a myriad of Western and Asian delights.


Toa Payoh

Toa Payoh may seem like a normal heartland area at first, but look further and you'll find that it's steeped in rich history. The neighbourhood, which translates to "big swamp" in the Hokkien dialect, is the second oldest satellite town after Queenstown and is the site of many firsts – first town to adopt the neighbourhood police post system, first MRT station to be built, and first mosque to be established under the Mosque Building Fund (MBF).

When you’re in the ‘hood, drop by key venues like the aforementioned Masjid Muhajirin mosque, Toa Payoh Town Park for a spot of greenery, and the iconic Dragon Playground for a look at one of Singapore's most beloved landmarks.

If you’re feeling peckish, there are cafés and restaurants like waffle-and-ice cream joint Creamier and famous seafood dining spot Mellben, where you can sample chilli crab, a classic local creation.

Want to find out even more about Toa Payoh? Bookmark this heritage trail guide and explore the town with ease


Jalan Besar

The shophouse-lined streets of this colourful district was once a simple track through a betel nut and fruit orchard, which was established in the 1830s by the Norris Brothers. Years later, the Municipality decided to expand the road before aptly naming it Jalan Besar, aka "big road" in Malay.

Now a conserved area, Jalan Besar is home to an eclectic range of eateries, cafés, enterainment venues, and religious sites. It’s also a hostel hotspot and backpackers constantly flock here.

This is one of best areas to go café-hopping so check out hangouts like Butter Studio for its incredible baked goods and Chye Seng Huat Hardware for some potent coffee (or a cold brew on tap). Don’t miss other highlights like Tyrwhitt General Company for artisanal products; they make for great souvenirs.

If you’re sticking around for dinner, hit up places such as The Refinery for Japanese yakitori (grilled skewered food) and bespoke cocktails, or if you want some local delights, make a beeline for Jalan Berseh Food Centre for orh luak (fried oyster omelette) and, for the adventurous, turtle soup. 

 

Now that you’re equipped with the right knowledge, you’re all set and ready to go explore the secret side of Singapore! For more walking trails and neighbourhoods to visit, check out these guides.