与众不同的首都大厦位于桥南路 (North Bridge Road) 和史丹福路 (Stamford Road) 的交汇处,长久以来都是政府大厦的一个地标。

经过四年的翻新工作,这座建于 20 世纪 30 年代的历史性地标建筑已经恢复昔日荣光,如今成为整合开发项目“新加坡首都综合项目”的一部分。

历史性关注焦点

受 Namazie 家族委托,建筑事务所 Keys & Dowdeswell 最初设计了这栋新古典主义风格的建筑,并于首都剧院落成四年后,即 1933 年建成。作为新加坡的一家豪华电影院,相连接的剧院自开业以来数十年间一直稳居新加坡电影业的第一把交椅。

这座建筑物醒目的外观和柱廊正对路口,成为新加坡最具辨识度的一个街角的美丽背景。首都大厦的巨大广告牌张贴着首都剧院最新影片的海报,无论行人或司机都会被它吸引,而它也自然而然地成为新加坡最受欢迎的地标。

首都剧院原有的建筑细节完整无缺,如今,这里已经成为舞蹈和戏剧作品演出、电影放映和电影首映走红毯的场所。它以艺术装饰式入口、曲线悬挑顶棚和点缀着黄道十二宫的拱形屋顶而闻名,双翼飞马和骑士雕塑分列舞台两侧。

购物和娱乐枢纽

随着首都大厦、首都剧院和相邻的史丹福大厦和首都中心的重新开发,这个建筑群如今被统一称为“新加坡首都综合项目”。

这一整合式开发项目包括一个生活时尚、购物和娱乐项目,其中有零售业务—— Capitol Piazza 商场、超豪华酒店——新加坡首都帕提纳饭店,以及豪华公寓——首都伊甸园住宅区。

曾经的首都大厦和史丹福大厦已经得到保护,如今成为豪华购物和生活时尚商场 Capitol Piazza 商场的一部分,其包括三个片区:Neue、Galleria 和 Arcade。

曾经的首都中心如今成为 Neue,这座四层建筑拥有最新上市的时尚和美容品牌店,如日本时尚品牌 45R,芬兰生活时尚品牌 Marimekko,以及多品牌精品店 Manifesto 和 Julie Nicole。这里还有新加坡顶级本土设计师创建的旗舰店,例如 MAX.TAN、SABRINAGOH 和 The Reckless Shop。

在 Galleria 的空调步行区,您将能找到很多酒吧、咖啡馆和餐厅,这里连接着首都大厦、首都剧院和史丹福大厦。底层的 Arcade 拥有多个街头精品店,如奥地利珠宝品牌 FREYWILLE 和美发沙龙 PREP Luxe 和 Truefitt & Hill 等。

行人还能通过首都广场购物中心的地下通道从政府大厦 (City Hall) 捷运站轻松进入商场。

Located at the junction of North Bridge Road and Stamford Road, the distinctive Capitol Building has long been one of City Hall’s landmarks.

After four years of renovation work, the historic structure from the 1930s has been restored to its former glory and is now part of Capitol Singapore, an integrated development.

Historic centre of attention

Originally designed by architectural firm Keys & Dowdeswell and commissioned by the Namazie family, the Neoclassical Capitol Building was completed in 1933, four years after the Capitol Theatre. The adjoining theatre dominated the Singapore movie scene for decades after it opened as the premier cinema in the country.

With its striking façade and portico facing the road junction, the building became the backdrop to one of Singapore’s most recognisable street corners. Its giant billboards emblazoned with posters of the latest movies screening at Capitol Theatre attracted the attention of pedestrians and motorists alike and became as much of a beloved landmark itself.

Today, the Capitol Theatre has become a venue for dance and theatrical productions, film screenings and red carpet movie premieres, with its original architectural details kept intact. It boasts an Art Deco entrance, a curved cantilevered canopy, a vaulted roof embellished with the 12 zodiac signs, as well as sculptures of winged horses and their riders flanking the stage.

Shopping and entertainment hub

Upon the redevelopment of Capitol Building, Capitol Theatre and the neighbouring Stamford House and Capitol Centre, this cluster of buildings is now known collectively as Capitol Singapore.

This integrated development houses a lifestyle, shopping and entertainment development that includes a retail arm, Capitol Piazza, an ultra-luxury hotel, The Patina, Capitol Singapore as well as luxury apartments, Eden Residences Capitol.

The former Capitol Building and Stamford House have been conserved and are now part of luxury shopping and lifestyle mall Capitol Piazza, which consists of three sections: Neue, Galleria and Arcade.

The former Capitol Centre is now the site of Neue, a four-storey building with stores of new-to-market fashion and beauty brands such as Japanese fashion label 45R and Finnish lifestyle brand Marimekko, along with multi-label boutiques Manifesto and Julie Nicole. The flagship stores of Singapore's top local designers such as MAX.TAN, SABRINAGOH and The Reckless Shop, can also be found here.

At Galleria, you’ll find a circle of bars, cafes and restaurants housed within an air-conditioned promenade that links the former Capitol Building, Capitol Theatre and Stamford House together. The Arcade ground floor section is home to street front boutiques such as Austrian jewellery brand FREYWILLE and hair salons like PREP Luxe and Truefitt & Hill.

An underground walkway within the Capitol Piazza shopping complex also gives pedestrians easy access to the mall from City Hall MRT station.