老巴刹是真正的新加坡地标,它于 1973 年被列为国家古迹。

建于 19 世纪的老巴刹又名直落亚逸集市 (Telok Ayer Market),长久以来,因其令人惊叹的外观一直傲视本地景观。作为真正的新加坡地标,老巴刹于 1973 年被列为国家古迹。

独特的设计

老巴刹市场位于金融区的核心地带,非常醒目的八边形外观和装饰柱子由英国建筑师乔治·科尔门 (George Coleman) 设计而成。这位建筑师在殖民时期还为新加坡设计了许多迄今依然完好的著名建筑,例如旧国会大厦 (Old Parliament House)。

老巴刹原址位于水畔,1894 年迁移重建,新加坡市政工程师、苏格兰人 James MacRitchie 保留了市场的核心外观设计,并添加了一座优雅的钟楼和一个新铸造的支承结构。框架均在苏格兰格拉斯哥铸造完成,然后运至新加坡进行组装。

建筑瑰宝

如今,经过多次整修和翻新(最近一次在 2014 年 6 月),其外观依然忠于 MacRitchie 当年原本的设计。令人惊叹的是,高耸的拱门、回纹饰屋檐和维多利亚时代的修长立柱(柱顶有以铸铁制成的金银丝雕饰)呈现出通透而精致的花边效果。

长久以来,这个市场已转变为熟食中心,供应最棒的本地美食。在新加坡最迷人的美食中心品尝冰镇啤酒和海南鸡饭,陶醉于优雅的旧世界魅力。

Lau Pa Sat is a true Singapore landmark that was gazetted as a national monument in 1973.

Built in the 19th century, Lau Pa Sat or Telok Ayer Market has long dominated the local landscape with its striking presence. A true Singapore landmark, it was gazetted as a national monument in 1973.

Distinctive design

Situated in the heart of the financial district, the market’s distinctive octagonal shape and ornamental columns were first conceived by British architect George Coleman. He also designed many of colonial Singapore’s prominent buildings that are still standing today, such as Old Parliament House.

When the market had to be moved from its original waterfront location and rebuilt in 1894, Municipal Engineer of Singapore and Scotsman James MacRitchie retained its essential shape, but added a graceful clock tower and a new cast-iron supporting structure. The frames were cast in Glasgow before being shipped to and assembled in Singapore.

An architectural gem

Today, after several facelifts and restorations (its most recent was in June 2014), what you see is still in line with MacRitchie’s original vision. It is a marvel to observe how the soaring arches, fretted eaves and slender Victorian columns topped with intricate filigree work – wrought from the most solid iron – have achieved an airy, delicate lace-like effect.

The market has long been converted into a hawker centre offering the best of local cuisine. So sip an ice-cold beer and enjoy a plate of Hainanese chicken rice as you revel in the elegant old-world charm of Singapore’s loveliest food court.