滨海堤坝绿意盎然的绿色屋顶,成了放飞风筝的热门景点,也是举家共享休闲的好去处。

无论是明媚阳光下的教育活动,或是水上消闲运动,滨海堤坝满足您不同的休闲需求。

在新加坡,就连原本枯燥无味的水坝设施,也能变身为精彩好玩的热门消闲胜地。滨海堤坝横跨 350 米宽的滨海水道口 (Marina Channel) ,形成新加坡第 15 个蓄水池,供水量占总需求量 10%。 

滨海堤坝把海浪阻隔在滨海湾之外,所以海湾内的蓄水池风平浪静,堪称水上娱乐项目的理想之选,适合个人独木舟或团队龙舟赛。不喜欢水上运动的话,登上滨海堤坝绿色屋顶,在开放式的绿色空间里,以蓝天白云为背景放飞风筝或全家共享休闲。 

滨海堤坝还有另一项重要功能:缓解新加坡低洼地带的淹水情况。每降豪雨,滨海堤坝的九道铁闸会开闸泄洪,将蓄水池内高涨的积水排入海中。在天降豪雨又逢涨潮时,7个巨型排水泵将自动启动,以每个排水泵每分钟排空一个奥林匹克泳池水量的速度操作,将多余的雨水排放入海。 

滨海堤坝还展示了新加坡致力于打造绿色国家的决心。

图片来源: LH Wong via Foter.com

滨海堤坝还展示了新加坡致力于打造绿色国家的决心。以太阳能公园 (Solar Park) 为例,这是全新加坡规模最大的太阳能板集中区,400 多块太阳能板日间发电量可用于滨海堤坝全天室内照明。 

想更了解新加坡如何推动绿色环保理念,不妨前往永续新加坡展览馆 (Sustainable Singapore Gallery) ,通过互动多媒体展示、展览和游戏,亲身体验新加坡这个小岛所面对的环境和水务问题。

The rooftop of the Marina Barrage is a popular green space for flying kites or just chilling out with the family.

For a dose of education mixed with fun in the sun and recreation on the water, the Marina Barrage gives you all that and more.

In Singapore, even something as mundane as a dam can be turned into a hotspot for recreational activities. Built across the mouth of the 350-metre wide Marina Channel, the Marina Barrage creates the country’s 15th reservoir, supplying around 10 per cent of the nation’s water needs. 

As the water in the reservoir remains calm all year around, it’s ideal for some soaking wet fun, whether it’s kayaking or for the more team-spirited, a dragon boat race. If water sports is not your thing, then head to the rooftop of the barrage, which boasts a green space that’s popular for flying a kite, or just to chill out with the family. 

The Marina Barrage also plays an important part in helping to alleviate flooding in some of the lower lying areas of the island. During periods of heavy rain, a series of nine gates at the dam will be opened to release excess storm water into the sea when the tide is low. When it’s high tide, giant pumps that are capable of pumping an Olympic-sized swimming pool per minute whirr into action, draining water into the sea. 

The Marina Barrage is also a showcase for Singapore’s push to be a greener country.

The facility is also a showcase for Singapore’s push to be a greener country. The Solar Park, for instance, features one of the largest collections of solar panels in Singapore, with over 400 panels providing electricity needed for lighting at the barrage during the day. 

Those want to find out more about the country’s efforts to go green can head to the Sustainable Singapore Gallery, which illustrates environmental and water issues through interactive multi-media displays, exhibits and games.