在农历新年和中秋节等华族传统节日,宁静的裕华园也同样绽放出勃勃生机。

图片来源:Kar Kar Photography

裕华园入口处,一对庄严的石狮守护着大门。好比在中国古代,宫廷、陵墓、寺庙前也总是伫立着庄严威武的石狮充当守护之神。

这片占地 13.5 公顷的花园坐落于新加坡西部,散步其间,欣赏形态各异的石桥和宝塔,不经意间,还有一间茶馆掩藏在秀丽风景之中,此时此刻,恍若穿越至中国古代,令人浮想联翩。

台湾建筑师虞日镇教授仿效中国北宋时代的宫廷建筑风格与景观而设计,并于 1975 年建成裕华园。如园内的白虹桥,其建筑格式即是仿效北京颐和园内的十七拱桥而建。园内其他亮点还包括水梅盆景园,从马来西亚、中国、台湾、日本、菲律宾、印度尼西亚和泰国进口的百多个精心修剪的盆景争奇斗艳,美不胜收。

活龟鳖博物馆拥有 60 多个品种的逾 200 只海龟和乌龟,必将令孩子们欣喜不已。

每逢农历新年中秋节等华族佳节期间,这座宁静的花园也同样绽放出勃勃生机。

漫步在宁静优美的裕华园中,远离都市喧嚣,这里是改变生活步调的绝佳去处。如果游览宁静的裕华园还不能尽兴,那么只需前往毗邻的典型日式花园星和园 (Japanese Garden),就可体验日本中世纪的园林魅力。

The tranquil Chinese Garden also bursts into life during traditional Chinese festivals like Chinese New Year and the Mid-Autumn festival.

At the entrance of Chinese Garden, you’ll find a pair of majestic stone lions guarding its gates. Statues of these proud creatures have traditionally stood in front of imperial palaces, tombs and temples in ancient China for their mythical ability to protect.

Indeed the 13.5-hectare garden feels like a slice of ancient China transplanted to the west of Singapore, complete with a series of stone bridges, pagodas and a tea house.

Designed by Taiwanese architect Prof. Yuen-chen Yu and built in 1975, the space is modelled after the northern Chinese imperial style of architecture and landscaping, particularly during the Sung dynasty period. The ‘Bai Hong Qiao’ bridge, for instance, follows the style of the 17-Arch Bridge at the Summer Palace in Beijing. Other highlights include a Bonsai Garden, which houses a collection of over a hundred beautifully-manicured bonsais imported from Malaysia, China, Taiwan, Japan, Philippines, Indonesia, and Thailand.

Meanwhile, kids will delight at the Live Turtle And Tortoise Museum, which is home to more than 200 turtles and tortoises in over 60 different species.

The usually tranquil grounds burst into life during traditional Chinese festivals like Chinese New Year and the Mid-Autumn Festival.

A stroll through the meandering footpaths is a nice change of pace from the bustling city. And if you can’t get enough of the serenity of the Chinese Garden, simply cross over to the nearby Japanese Garden, a model of Japanese gardens from the middle ages.